The artist

Originally from the Bas-Saint-Laurent region in Quebec, Denise Pelletier has been painting for over 20 years. With a background in graphic design, art history and education, she has continually nurtured her artistic approach while simultaneously pursuing a career in art education in Ottawa, Ontario.

BIOGRAPHY

DENISE PELLETIER

Sharing her passion with others through teaching has given real meaning to Denise’s life. She has discovered that giving is receiving.

Sharing her passion with others through teaching has given real meaning to Denise’s life. She has discovered that giving is receiving. First with teenagers, and subsequently with painters of all levels, Denise derives great joy from coaching budding artists.

Along the years,Several extended stays abroad have served to recharge her batteries while affording her the possibility of a free exploration of painting technique. In addition to fine-tuning her expertise at The Ottawa school of artsshe moved to the l’École des Beaux-Arts d’Avignon in France. 

Eureka! 

Immersion courses in England, Italy, Ireland, Scotland, France, Morocco, Provence and Croatia have all helped to fuel her passion. In the latter she also developed an outdoor painting workshop. 

Closer to home, Quebec provides continual inspiration. With easel tucked into her luggage, Denise has explored the exquisite beauties of la belle province: the Laurentian mountains, the Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Charlevoix, and the Outaouais all find unique expression on her canvas.

Denise Pelletier adore planter son chevalet en pleine nature au hasard des lieux et rencontres. Le besoin de peindre en groupe au côté d’amis peintres la nourrie. La confrérie artistique est bien présente chez elle. De temps à autres, on la voit en compagnie de ses comparses peintres.

She often sets her easel up in the wild and delights in the random meetings with others that this may occasion. Being a part of an artistic community is an integral part of her creative process.

Inspired in particular by Manet, Boudin, Cézanne and the Nabis, she humbly pursues her desire to capture a fragment of life’s beauty on canvas.

Denise resides alternately in the Charlevoix and in the Outaouais regions of Quebec, all depending on the winds and tides!

EXHIBITIONS

Exhibition in galleries

In recent years, she has participated in various exhibitions in Ottawa, Gatineau, Trois-Rivières and Montreal, New York, Vancouver, and Aix-en-Provence in France. She is currently represented by Galerie Imbert of Aix-en-Provence (www.galerieimbert.com) Galerie Québec art in Quebec.

en_CAEnglish

L'artiste

Originaire du Bas-Saint-Laurent au Québec, Denise Pelletier peint depuis plus de 20 ans. Après une formation en graphisme, en histoire de l’art puis en éducation, elle poursuit et nourrit sa démarche artistique conjointement à une carrière d’enseignement des arts à Ottawa, Ontario.

BIOGRAPHIE

DENISE PELLETIER

Son passage en milieu scolaire confirme son désir de partager sa passion donnant ainsi un réel sens à sa vie. Donner, c’est recevoir… apprendre, c’est partager… cela va de pair.

D’abord auprès d’adolescents, et parallèlement auprès de peintres de tous niveaux, elle fait du coaching, une grande joie. Guidant ses créateurs en herbe sur le chemin de la création, à ce moment particulier, elle sent qu’elle est au bon endroit, ! Il n’y a pas de prix à voir la fierté chez ses artistes quand la magie opère!

Au fil des ans, elle fait plusieurs séjours prolongés à l’étranger pour se ressourcer et peindre en toute liberté. En plus de peaufiner sa technique à l’École d’Art d’Ottawa, elle s’envole vers l’École des Beaux-Arts d’Avignon en France. 

Le déclic se fait! 

Suivront alors des stages d’immersion en Angleterre, Italie, Irlande, Écosse, France, Maroc et plusieurs séjours en Provence, sans oublier la Croatie ou elle dirige un atelier de peinture en plein air. 

Le Québec n’est pas en reste au fil des saisons, le chevalet bien glissé dans ses bagages. Les Laurentides, les Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Charlevoix, l’Outaouais seront immortalisés sur sa toile!

Denise Pelletier adore planter son chevalet en pleine nature au hasard des lieux et rencontres. Le besoin de peindre en groupe au côté d’amis peintres la nourrie. La confrérie artistique est bien présente chez elle. De temps à autres, on la voit en compagnie de ses comparses peintres.

Portée, inspirée notamment par les maîtres Manet, Boudin, Cézanne et les Nabis elle poursuit humblement sa quête de la beauté, son désir de partager un fragment de la vie immortalisé sur la toile.

Toutes ses préoccupations, rêves, carrières, loisirs et passions gravitent autour de l’univers de l’art, en étant tous connectés ; son chemin passe naturellement par l’art.

Elle réside en alternance dans la région de Charlevoix et en Outaouais au Québec, au gré des vents et marées!

EXPOSITIONS

Oeuvres en galeries

Au cours des dernières années, elle participe à diverses expositions à Ottawa, Gatineau, Trois-Rivières et Montréal, New York, Vancouver sans oublier Aix-en-Provence en France. Elle est actuellement représentée par la Galerie Imbert de Aix-en Provence et à la Galerie Québec art à Québec.

fr_FRFrench